History of the Newlyn Football Netball Club

The below excerpt from the Creswick Adertiser on Tuesday June 26, 1900 details how the Newlyn Football Netball Club came to exist.

"The followers of the popular winter pastime in Newlyn have decided not to be behindhand as regards a football club - though they may be late in making a start considering that the season is now half over.  At a meeting held last week officers were appointed and the season will be opened on Saturday next with a match at Newlyn against the Mount Prospect Juniors.  The secretary ( Mr. Prendergast) will be pleased to arrange a match with Creswick Juniors or any other team wishing to try conclusions with them.  The following are the office-bearers:- President, Mr. J. Hogan; vice-president, Mr. R. Bloink; treasurer, Mr. T. Wilkins; secretary, Mr. P. Prendergast; committee, Messers. W.D. Young, T. Dunne, A. McKinnon, J. Prendergast and J. Hogan; match committee, Messers. W.D. Young, G. McKinnon and P. Prendergast; captain, Mr W.D. Young; vice-captain, Mr. G. McKinnon."
Creswick Advertiser, Tuesday June 26, 1900.

This marked the start of what has now become the Newlyn Football Netball Club. The team first played in the Smeaton and Newlyn District Junior Football Association which consisted of Broomfield, Kingston, Newlyn, Rocky Lead, Smeaton, Springmount and Ullina.  The season commenced on July 21, 1900 with a trip over the hill to take on Kingston.  In a closely contested match Newlyn came up short losing by the narrowest of margins.  Final scores being Newlyn 2-1-13 to Kingston 2-2-14 with best players being Robinson, Young, Prendergast and McKinnon.

A team was selected on August 4, 1900 to take on Broomfield from the following players:-

Stewart, Robertson, Ross, Hogan, Young, Stephens, Hutchins, Wilkins, Speed, McKinnon, Crisp, Warren, Dullen, May, Bree, Prendergast, McCormick, Dunn, Plier and Shea.

Some of the same family names are still involved with the club continuing the connection over more than 100 years.

Until the current recreation reserve was established and opened on April 18, 1949, the club is known to have played on at least seven grounds. To begin with, a paddock was donated for use by a local farmer and when he wished to reclaim his paddock for tilling, another farmer with suitable land would be approached and a new football ground born ( the boundary line was ploughed with a single furrow plough and goal posts were fashioned from bush saplings).  Season 1900 saw a ground marked out in a paddock owned by Thomas Prendergast. Click
here for a list of home grounds.

To date we know of three different jumpers used by the club. All blue with N.F.C white monogram until the 1930’s; royal blue with white hoops until 1937; the present day of navy blue with white hoops. The present Newlyn sporting complex was opened in April 1991 and was erected with the labour and support of the local community.



Year and Coach

1903                       unknown
1906                       unknown
1909                       unknown
1913                       unknown
1920                       Harry May (Capt)
1927                       Dan Bradby
1928                       Dan Bradby
1932                       Darcy Bayley
1935                       Jimmy Lawn
1936                       Trevor Tolliday
1938                       Frank Penny
1949                       Harold Beaumont
1962                       Ian Burt
1969                       Lindsay Lee
1970                       Lindsay Lee
1975                       Colin Chester
1992                       Michael Roche / Ivan Clarke
2003                       Damien Stewart / Greg Cosgriff

1971                       Kevin Lafranchi

Under 17      
1980                       Michael Ward

Under 16
1963                       Maurice Richardson

Under 14       
1987                       Craig Slater

Under 13  
1974                       Michael Ward


Overall Record

Delving into the records our overall results are as follows:-

Click here to view the results.


Club history is an ever evolving snapshot.  To get to where we are now a number of people and organisations must be thanked.  They are:-
Creswick Museum Research Centre, Ballarat Courier, Ballarat Regional Library, State Library of Victoria, Central Highlands Football League, Frank Richardson, Maurice May, Kevin Lafranchi, Ron Leishman, Alan Henderson, Robin Cawthan and Kevin Clohesy.  The contributions of other people not listed is also much appreciated.

If anybody has more information or can help to fill gaps in our history please let us know.  Sometimes it can be something small that can lead to much greater outcomes.  Anything from photos to family records and newspaper articles would be of interest to us.